Ballet Memphis serves Memphis and the greater Mid-South area with performances, education and community engagement, while maintaining a national and international touring schedule. Support from a stellar staff and dedicated, community-focused board ensures that all our programs continue with unwavering high standards.

Gretchen Wollert McLennon

President & CEO

Gretchen Wollert McLennon

Steven McMahon

Artistic Director

Steven McMahon
Gretchen Wollert McLennon

President & CEO

Gretchen Wollert McLennon

Steven McMahon

Artistic Director

Steven McMahon

Steven joined Ballet Memphis in 2004 as a dancer and has created more than 30 works for Ballet Memphis, including his first full-length ballet, Wizard of Oz as well as Soul Selects Her Own Society, Confluence, I Am and Peter Pan. Other new ballets for Ballet Memphis include Carnival of the Animals, Romeo and Juliet and Cinderella. Steven also has choreographed many original works including The Lovely Story of Us, which was performed in Helsinki, Finland, at the International Ballet Competition, and two of his works, Being Here With Other People and Confluence, have been performed at the Spring to Dance Festival in St. Louis.


His works also have been performed at Organizacion Para La Artes in Guatemala and at other venues around the nation including the Joyce Theater in New York and the Alabama Dance Festival. His first ballet, What Your Soul Sings, premiered at Ballet Memphis’ Interiorworks. He was a 2016 National Arts Strategies Senior Management Institute fellow as well as a fellow in the 2016 Salzburg Global Forum for Young Cultural Innovators in Salzburg, Austria. Steven, who is originally from Glasgow, Scotland, joined the Company after completing his training at The Ailey School in New York City. He retired from the stage in 2016.

Anne-Carolyn Bird

Development Strategist, acbird@balletmemphis.org

Travis Bradley

Company Rehearsal Assistant, tbradley@balletmemphis.org

Ali Filipovich

Costume Manager, afilipovich@balletmemphis.org

Kristen Fisher

Director of Production, kfisher@balletmemphis.org

Eileen Frazer

Community Impact Liaison, efrazer@balletmemphis.org

Blake Ginet

Development Operations Manager, bginet@balletmemphis.org

Sheric Hull

Facilities Manager and Lighting Designer, shull@balletmemphis.org

Brooke LeGrow

Pilates + Wellness Administrator, blegrow@balletmemphis.org

Jenna Lester

School and Box Office Manager, jlester@balletmemphis.org

Megan McCusker

School Instructor and Rehearsal Assistant, mmccusker@balletmemphis.org

Carol Miraglia

Chief Administrative Officer, cmiraglia@balletmemphis.org

Samson Mobashar

Chief Program and Strategy Officer, smobashar@balletmemphis.org

Gabriela Moros Diaz

Costume Director, gmoros@balletmemphis.org

Julie Marie Niekrasz

Rehearsal Director, jniekrasz@balletmemphis.org

Janet Parke

Director of School and Youth Ballet Memphis, jparke@balletmemphis.org

Brandon Ramey

Asst. Director of School, bramey@balletmemphis.org

Virginia Pilgrim Ramey

Asst. Director of School, vramey@balletmemphis.org

Rebecca Thomason

Senior Communications Strategist, rthomason@balletmemphis.org

Pam VanGilder

Director of Pilates + Wellness, pvangilder@balletmemphis.org

Board of Directors

Andrea Bienstock

Chair, General Counsel, Belz Enterprises

Shelley Shanaman

Vice Chair, Community Volunteer

Maggie Lovell

Treasurer, Managing Member, Wilson Babb & Company

Bert Barnett

Retired, Former President, Prime Automotive Warehouse Inc.

Joan Schadt Biddle

Digital Media Solutions, Lead Content Developer

Eric Clauson

President, Lexington Asset Management

LeeAnne Cox

Attorney, Burch Porter Johnson

Neil Gibson

Sr. VP Customer Experience, FedEx

Brett Grinder

Vice President, Grinder, Taber & Grinder, Inc.

Judge Ruthie Hagan

U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Tennessee

Monica C. Jones

Sr. VP, Credit Risk Director, First Horizon National Corp.

Faith Kaye

Realtor, Hobson Realtors

Sue Layman Lightman

Owner & Artist, Sue Layman Designs

Eric Mathews

CEO & Founder, Start Co.

Gretchen Wollert McLennon

President & CEO, Ballet Memphis

Nehali Patel

Physician, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

​Jessica Webb

Writer & Researcher