Support from a stellar staff and dedicated, community-focused board ensures that all our programs continue with unwavering high standards.

Gretchen Wollert McLennon

President & CEO

Gretchen Wollert McLennon

Steven McMahon

Artistic Director

Steven McMahon
Gretchen Wollert McLennon

President & CEO

Gretchen Wollert McLennon

Steven McMahon

Artistic Director

Steven McMahon

Steven joined Ballet Memphis in 2004 as a dancer and has created more than 30 works for Ballet Memphis, including his first full-length ballet, Wizard of Oz as well as Soul Selects Her Own Society, Confluence, I Am and Peter Pan. Other new ballets for Ballet Memphis include Carnival of the Animals, Romeo and Juliet and Cinderella. Steven also has choreographed many original works including The Lovely Story of Us, which was performed in Helsinki, Finland, at the International Ballet Competition, and two of his works, Being Here With Other People and Confluence, have been performed at the Spring to Dance Festival in St. Louis.


His works also have been performed at Organizacion Para La Artes in Guatemala and at other venues around the nation including the Joyce Theater in New York and the Alabama Dance Festival. His first ballet, What Your Soul Sings, premiered at Ballet Memphis’ Interiorworks. He was a 2016 National Arts Strategies Senior Management Institute fellow as well as a fellow in the 2016 Salzburg Global Forum for Young Cultural Innovators in Salzburg, Austria. Steven, who is originally from Glasgow, Scotland, joined the Company after completing his training at The Ailey School in New York City. He retired from the stage in 2016.

Marie Bonds

Costume Manager, mbonds@balletmemphis.org

Ben Delony

Rehearsal Director, bdelony@balletmemphis.org

Kristen Fisher

Director of Production, kfisher@balletmemphis.org

Eileen Frazer

Ballet Mistress and Community Programs Manager, efrazer@balletmemphis.org

Sheric Hull

Facilities Manager and Lighting Designer, shull@balletmemphis.org

Jenna Lester

School and Box Office Manager, jlester@balletmemphis.org

Megan McCusker

School Instructor and Rehearsal Assistant, mmccusker@balletmemphis.org

Carol Miraglia

Chief Administrative Officer, cmiraglia@balletmemphis.org

Samson Mobashar

Chief Program and Strategy Officer, smobashar@balletmemphis.org

Gabriela Moros Diaz

Costume Director, gmoros@balletmemphis.org

Julie Marie Niekrasz

Rehearsal Director, jniekrasz@balletmemphis.org

Brandon Ramey

Co-Director of School and Youth Ballet Memphis, bramey@balletmemphis.org

Virginia Pilgrim Ramey

Co-Director of School and Youth Ballet Memphis, vramey@balletmemphis.org

Rebecca Thomason

Senior Communications Strategist, rthomason@balletmemphis.org

Jessie Tretter

Pilates + Wellness Manager, jtretter@balletmemphis.org

Pam VanGilder

Director of Pilates + Wellness, pvangilder@balletmemphis.org

Madison Webb

Development Officer, mwebb@balletmemphis.org

Board of Directors

Shelley Shanaman

Chair, Community Volunteer

Nehali Patel

Secretary, Physician, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Maggie Lovell

Treasurer, Community Volunteer

Andrea Bienstock

Immediate Past Chair, General Counsel, Belz Enterprises

Joan Schadt Biddle

Medical Content Writer, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

LeeAnne Cox

Attorney, Burch Porter Johnson

Neil Gibson

Sr. Vice President Customer Experience, FedEx

Brett Grinder

Vice President, Grinder, Taber & Grinder, Inc.

Judge Ruthie Hagan

U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Tennessee

Monica C. Jones

Sr. Vice President, Credit Risk Director, First Horizon National Corp.

Faith Kaye

Realtor, Hobson Realtors

Sue Layman Lightman

Owner & Artist, Sue Layman Designs

Ron Lazarov

President, Kelman-Lazarov Inc.

Eric Mathews

CEO & Founder, Start Co.

Gretchen Wollert McLennon

President & CEO, Ballet Memphis

​Jessica Webb

Writer & Researcher