Ballet Memphis serves Memphis and the greater Mid-South area with performances, education and community engagement, while maintaining a national and international touring schedule. Support from a stellar staff and dedicated, community-focused board ensures that all our programs continue with unwavering high standards.

Gretchen Wollert McLennon

President & CEO

Gretchen Wollert McLennon

Steven McMahon

Artistic Director

Steven McMahon
Gretchen Wollert McLennon

President & CEO

Gretchen Wollert McLennon

Steven McMahon

Artistic Director

Steven McMahon

Steven joined Ballet Memphis in 2004 as a dancer and has created more than 30 works for Ballet Memphis, including his first full-length ballet, Wizard of Oz as well as Soul Selects Her Own Society, Confluence, I Am and Peter Pan. Other new ballets for Ballet Memphis include Carnival of the Animals, Romeo and Juliet and Cinderella. Steven also has choreographed many original works including The Lovely Story of Us, which was performed in Helsinki, Finland, at the International Ballet Competition, and two of his works, Being Here With Other People and Confluence, have been performed at the Spring to Dance Festival in St. Louis.


His works also have been performed at Organizacion Para La Artes in Guatemala and at other venues around the nation including the Joyce Theater in New York and the Alabama Dance Festival. His first ballet, What Your Soul Sings, premiered at Ballet Memphis’ Interiorworks. He was a 2016 National Arts Strategies Senior Management Institute fellow as well as a fellow in the 2016 Salzburg Global Forum for Young Cultural Innovators in Salzburg, Austria. Steven, who is originally from Glasgow, Scotland, joined the Company after completing his training at The Ailey School in New York City. He retired from the stage in 2016.

Meredith Duncan

Donor Relations Manager, mduncan@balletmemphis.org

Kristen Fisher

Stage Manager / Production Coordinator, kfisher@balletmemphis.org

Sheric Hull

Master Electrician, shull@balletmemphis.org

Allan Kerr

Director of Production / Facilities Manager, akerr@balletmemphis.org

Jenna Lester

School Administrator, jlester@balletmemphis.org

Carolyn McCormick

Chief Advancement Officer, cmccormick@balletmemphis.org

Carol Miraglia

Chief Administrative Officer, cmiraglia@balletmemphis.org

Samson Mobashar

Chief of Staff, smobashar@balletmemphis.org

Julie Marie Niekrasz

Rehearsal Director, jniekrasz@balletmemphis.org

Janet Parke

Director of School & Youth Ballet Memphis, jparke@balletmemphis.org

Elizabeth Petty

Costume Technician, epetty@balletmemphis.org

Virginia Pilgrim Ramey

Asst. Director of School, vramey@balletmemphis.org

Brandon Ramey

Asst. Director of School, bramey@balletmemphis.org

Pam VanGilder

Pilates Center Manager, pvangilder@balletmemphis.org

Board of Directors

Andrea Bienstock

Chairman, General Counsel, Belz Enterprises

Bert Barnett

Retired, Former President, Prime Automotive Warehouse Inc.

Joan Schadt Biddle

Digital Media Solutions, Lead Content Developer

Eric Clauson

President, Lexington Asset Management

LeeAnne Cox

Attorney, Burch Porter Johnson

Neil Gibson

FedEx, Sr.VP Customer Experience

Brett Grinder

Vice President, Grinder, Taber & Grinder, Inc.

Monica C. Jones

Sr. VP, Credit Risk Director, First Horizon National Corp.

Faith Kaye

Realtor, Hobson Realtors

Sue Layman Lightman

Owner & Artist, Sue Layman Designs

Maggie Lovell

Instructor, Rhodes College, Department of Business

Eric Mathews

CEO & Founder, Start Co.

Gretchen Wollert McLennon

President & CEO, Ballet Memphis

Nehali Patel

Physician, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Shelley Shanaman

Community Volunteer

Catherine Turner

Mental Health Professional