By Brandon Ramey

A site-specific work centered around the future—hope-filled and bright—Overview Effect searches for the global feeling of “us.”

Brandon Ramey, Choreographer
Different communities are experiencing the pandemic in vastly different ways. To me, it begs the question, what, if anything, are we all in together?

Choreographer Brandon Ramey drew inspiration from astronauts seeing the earth from space, reporting how small and fragile it is. Rather than getting caught up in individual's own little worlds, Overview Effect is about appreciating people as part of a connected whole.


Piano Concerto No. 2 in C Minor, Op. 18: II. Adagio Sostenuto
Composed by Sergei Rachmaninoff
Performed by Svetlana Navasardian, Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra, Gennadi Provatorov
Courtesy of Naxos of America, Inc.

Symphony No. 7 in A Major (2nd Movement)
Composed by Ludwig van Beethoven
Performed by Wilfred Symphony Orchestra

Monologue written by Brandon Ramey and read by Christopher Tracy.


Iori Araya, Anwen David, Ashley Hannah Davis, Jonathan David Dummar, Oscar Fernandez, Eileen Frazer, Cecily Khuner, Mei Kotani, Dylan McIntyre, Brandon Ramey, Virginia Pilgrim Ramey, Alexis Nicole Rodgers, Jimena Flores Sánchez, Pablo Sanchez, Emilia Sandoval

Contributing Artists:

Christopher Tracy – Voiceover, Michael Butler Jr – Cinematographer, Bruce Bui – Costume design, Sheric Hull – Lighting Design